Anthropology Subject Guide

Digitized sound and music from the Europeana cultural heritage collection.

Repository of public domain music world-wide.

Over 20,000 audio recordings, mostly focused on 20th century but some content dates back to 16th century. Primarily North American focused.

Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels. Includes music notes, tracklist, and instrumentation.

These sound archives gather commercial and field recordings of music and oral traditions from around the world, from 1900 to the present. Note: Limited digital access. Follow the "free public sounds items" link.

Established in 1961, the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive’s collection of more than 200,000 audio, video, print, and photographic items documents musical expressions throughout the world. As part of UCLA’s Department of Ethnomusicology, the Archive preserves over 60 years’ worth of audio and video recordings of the department’s famed concerts and lectures by legendary scholars and performers. Lectures, performances, and more are available online on the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive channel on the Internet Archive.

Smithsonian Global Sound makes accessible tens of thousands of audio recordings and hundreds of videorecordings, including the published recordings owned by Smithsonian Folkways and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, and other labels.

AnthroPod is the podcast of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, and is produced by a collaborative, nonhierarchical collective of Contributing Editors. Featuring conversations between anthropologists as well as experiments in sonic ethnography, the channel sees itself as a platform which amplifies the polyphony of voices within cultural anthropology.

Anthropological Airwaves is an extension of the journal the American Anthropologist and explores the craft of anthropology in all of its forms.

A podcast dedicated to Anthropology. This podcast investigates different topics in anthropology, and interviews a wide range of guests to hear about some of their experiences and learn about the remarkable research they are producing.

Zora’s Daughters is a society and culture podcast that uses Black feminist anthropology to think about race, politics, and popular culture.

A day in the life of Digital Anthropologist takes you into the daily life and talks about what it really means to be a anthropologist in virtual spaces.

Podcast by Cambridge Anthropology.

The Oxford Anthropology Podcast brings together talks by internationally renowned scholars and cutting edge researchers. Their lectures explore a wide range of human experience and feature case studies from around the world.