Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

Research Paper - How to Guide: Databases

Databases

Library Databases

You've heard the word "database" a few times now. In this research context, a database is a collection of electronic information (records) describing individual books, articles and other media. The most common databases used in a library setting are the library catalogue and article databases. We also have a new "Search All" option, which allows you to search all types of sources at once.

Library catalogue includes:

  • everything the library physically owns, but also includes a large amount of online material
  • books, e-books, DVDs, government publications and reports, reserve materials (course assigned readings), titles of journals, and magazines

Article databases include: 

  • individual articles from magazines, journals and newspapers (search inside each individual issue)
  • searchable by keyword or subject
  • databases can be general, covering many different subjects or specialized
  • full article often available online

To find which Databases Douglas College has access to, Click the "Articles and Databases" tab OR the "Guides" tab found on the Douglas College Library Website.