Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

Research Paper - How to Guide: What/Where is it?

What/Where?

 

 

 

  

One of the best ways to gather information on a topic is to look at the “Works Cited” or “References” list found at the    end of an article or book.

Or, maybe you’ve been given a reference to something by a classmate or instructor. To locate it, you have to understand the information you've been given.

Books and articles are found in different places, in different ways. So you need to be able to tell the difference between   them. To know how to read the reference you are looking at CLICK HERE.

Once you know what you are looking for, you can search for the Book or Journal Title using the search bar on the Douglas College Library Website.  To find a book use the Library Catalogue to see if it is available in the Douglas College Library. 

Search the library catalogue for books, audio visual and other materials:

 

     

 


You can also use Advanced Search.

 To find an Article search for the Journal Title using the Journal Title search bar found on the Library Home page.

Reading Your References/Work Cited at the end of Books and Articles

If you are unsure on how to read the references found in a book or journal article, an example of a general formats for the different citation styles can be found below,
 
APA STYLE         
 
 
 
Book(s)
 
Author, A. A. (publication year).Title of work: Subtitle of work. Place of publication: Publisher
 
Article(s)
 
Author, A. A. (publication year). Title of work: Subtitle of work. Journal, Vol(Issue), pagination. Doi

CHICAGO STYLE

Click on the book jacket for additional information

 
Book(s)
 
Author. Title of Work. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
 
Article(s)

Author. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article," Journal Title Vol, no. Issue (Date of Publication): Pagination

 

MLA STYLE        

Click on the book jacket for additional information

Book(s)

Author.Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Medium.

Article(s)
 
Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Publication Year): Paeges. Medium.

 

 

 

Citation Help

Citation Help

  • The Library has citation help guides for APA, MLA and Chicago citation styles.
  • Click on the "Cite you source" link found under the Guides tab on the Library's Homepage or click the Picture below to find the citation help guides

    

Locating Books

Locating Books

The best place to check if the Douglas College Library has a particular book is the Library Catalog.

Search the library catalogue for books, audio visual and other materials:

     

 


You can also use Advanced Search.

 

Locating Articles

Locating Articles

How do you search for Journal articles?

Start by selecting the best database for your subject.  To find out which databases are Best suited for your topic, use the "Guides" link located on the Douglas College Homepage and select your Subject .

If you've found your article reference in one of our article databases, you will probably see either an HTML or PDF version of the full-text article available in the database.  If there is no full-text link, then click on the "Find the Article at the Douglas College Library" link in the database to see if Douglas College Library has online access or a print subscription.


If you've gotten the reference from somewhere else - an instructor, a bibliography, or another article, then you need to search it by the journal, magazine, or newspaper title in the Dougals College Journal Finder database

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

If Douglas College doesn't seem to have the item you want, there is still hope!  Libraries have a long-standing tradition of sharing materials between them. Douglas College Library will request the loan of a book, or a copy of an article, from any library in Canada for you, free of charge!  This service is called an Interlibrary Loan.  The key to taking advantage of this service is to start your research early enough. 

If it's an article you're after, the database feature "Where Can I Get This?" will allow you to request the item electronically through Interlibrary Loan if it isn't available online or in paper copy through Douglas College.  Articles are usually sent electronically, so your request can sometimes be filled very quickly.  Just in case though, we do ask for a 7-10 days to fill the request.  We'll let you know if it comes earlier.

If you didn't find the reference in a database, or aren't sure how to request it, ask at the Research Help Desk for assistance with submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.

You can also find the Interlibrary Loan forms for both books and articles through the library website locate in the Services tab under "Request Book from Another Library" 
 

 

 

Books are also available this way, but they will take a little longer to arrive.  Books have to be physically shipped, so it can take between 10 to 14 days to arrive.  Once again, ask at the Research Help Desk for assistance.