Sociology Subject Guide

Open access archive of Canadian primary source documents.

Explore the digital collection of over 50,000 objects held at UBC's Anthropology Museum.

Digital collections of archival materials held at the University of Victoria.

Use this database to find descriptions and select digitized versions of archival records held at the BC Archives.

Explore more than 70 collections and discover images, photographs, oral histories, documents and newspapers pertaining to immigrant experiences, activism and social movements, and indigenous collections.

The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of Residential School Survivors, families and communities are honoured and kept safe for future generations.

Scans of the cartographic records held by land surveyor of BC that relate to Indigenous land.

Colonial records of correspondence between British Empire and the colonies of British Columbia. Colonial descriptions of Indigenous peoples, places, and ships are mentioned and described.

We Are Here: Sharing Stories is an initiative to digitize and describe hundreds of thousands of Indigenous-related collection items in Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) holdings. This content includes textual material, photographs, artwork, maps and publications related to First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation, and comes from private donors, government records and published works

The BC Archives holds a significant number of records relating to Indigenous peoples and communities. Many are provincial or colonial government records created by settlers about First Nations, but we also have a number of records that contain first-hand Indigenous accounts, including audio recordings of songs and ceremonies, photographs of communities and people, and transcripts of interviews with Indigenous people.

Contains textual information extracted from archival documents relevant to the historical Métis Nation.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.

The Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative Slavery is a Web-based initiative designed to foster inter-site, comparative archaeological research on slavery throughout the Chesapeake, the Carolinas, and the Caribbean.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean provides users free and open access to Caribbean cultural, historical, scientific and research materials held in archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions of memory and preservation.

The BC Gay and Lesbian Archives was established in 1976 and developed and maintained by Ron Dutton in his home. Dutton donated the collection to the City of Vancouver Archives in February 2018. Collection consists of textual records (primarily textual ephemera), periodicals, photographs, posters, and audiovisual materials pertaining to LGBTQ2+ communities in Vancouver and British Columbia.

This archive offers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s, the institutionalization of women’s centers and women’s studies as an academic discipline, and feminist struggles taking place at colleges and universities, in healthcare and social service centers, in political organizations and neighborhood meetings across the country.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society Digital Collections

The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

The ACT UP Oral History Project is an archive of 187 interviews with members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.

The DTA is a curated collection of pre-2000 archival materials relevant to global transgender history. We collect materials about self-identified trans people, transsexuality, genders outside of western binaries, and a diverse range of gender nonconforming identities, practices, and experiences. We prioritize materials created by people who are documenting their own lives and communities, and underrepresented voices in trans histories, particularly materials by and about Black, Indigenous, and people of color.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is dedicated to collecting and preserving history pertaining to the lesbian community. This website contains select digitized materials from the LHA collection and was developed by graduate students at Pratt Institute School of Information.

The Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality.

The Disability History Museum's mission is to foster a deeper understanding about how changing cultural values, notions of identity, laws and policies have shaped and influenced the experience of people with disabilities, their families and their communities over time.

The Disabled People’s Archive is run by Greater Manchester Coalition of Disabled People with the support of Archives+ which is part of Manchester Central Library. We are proud to be the guardians of such a wealth and breadth of material that actually comes from disabled people's history as well as recording our history.

Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, this collection contributes to our understanding of the global, social-history, and public-policy implications of disease.

provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine. The unique digital collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.

Search 14,014 of our digitized items: artifacts, photographs, advertisements, letters, rare books, oral histories, and more.

The first school for the blind chartered in the United States, Perkins School for the Blind has remained a leader in the field for nearly 200 years. From photographs and documents, to tactile objects and audio visual materials, the Perkins Archives stewards some of the most historically significant collections of its kind in the world. Documenting the history of education for students who are blind, visually impaired, or deafblind, the Perkins Archives strives to make these important collections available to all through ongoing digitization and description efforts.