Image by Pexels from Pixabay via Pixabay's Site License
Decolonizing Teaching, Indigenizing Learning. UBC Faculty of Education. This website focusses on teacher candidates, in-service teachers, and post-secondary faculty colleagues to assist in "moving towards implementing Indigenous education and pedagogies into their curricula." Includes an FAQ, curated resources and "Curriculum Bundles...(which are) rich collections of knowledge and resources that will help users develop lessons and units that meet the needs of their students and honour the land that they teach on."
Decolonizing our Minds. SFU Library. This "Indigenous Curriculum Resource Centre" provides links to an extensive array of resources to support decolonizing and indigenizing curricula. The site also provides excellent resource pages on topics including Decolonizing our minds, Indigenous knowledge & pedagogy, Indigenous intellectual property rights and developing Respectful research practices.
University of Waterloo School of Public Health Sciences provides a resource list which "contains specific actions you can take to create more equitable and inclusive classrooms, courses, and learning experiences for (your) students." Main topics covered are: Critical conversations in the classroom, Decolonizing the classroom & teaching race, and Decolonizing the syllabus through Indigenization.
Indigenization Guides. BCcampus. This site provides a series of guides - each designed for different audiences, including Curriculum Developers, Teachers & Instructors and researchers. The guides were "authored by teams of Indigenous and ally writers from across BC."
How do you Talk About Indigenous Issues in the Classroom? From UBC Arts, this site provides "a range of material dedicated not only to exposing the difficulties that arise from discussing politically and culturally sensitive issues in the classroom, but also to facilitate more productive discussions around them."
Indigenous Storywork aims to " help educators learn about Indigenous cultures and ways of knowing, predominantly through Indigenous traditional and life-experience stories. "
Aboriginal Worldviews and Education. Created by Jean-Paul Restoule, University of Toronto for Coursera.
This open-online course "explore(s) indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices...."