Research Guides: ENGL1130 (Saldanha): Finding academic articles &amp; business resources in a database

Other Databases useful for Business Research

The videos on this page demonstrate Academic Search Complete, an excellent multi-disciplinary database and Business Source Ultimate, which is an excellent database for business research projects. Below are other suggested databases to check out during your research:

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for 397 "core" journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority" journals. Also includes full text for books, monographs and conference papers.
Subject: Sociology and related fields such as Criminology and Criminal Justice, Gender Studies, Social Psychology, Religion etc.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets
Subject: Covers current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations.
Subject: Psychology.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Demographic and economic data on every country in the world (with forecasts), as well as statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources for country, market, consumer, and lifestyle profiling. This database was previously referred to as the Global Market Information Database or GMID.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, and society. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Finding academic articles in a library database

Test your knowledge: Academic Search Complete
Take this short quiz to test your knowledge of searching for articles in Academic Search Complete. It's not for marks, just for you to see what you've learned!

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 8,600 full text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject: All subject areas.

Finding academic articles in a library database

Test your knowledge: Business Source Ultimate
Take this short quiz to test your knowledge of searching for articles in Business Source Ultimate. It's not for marks, just for you to see what you've learned!

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate provides full text of 3,500 business periodicals of which more than 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. Additional full text non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses (detailed information about a company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats).
Subject: Business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.