Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, Video and Audio Resources and More
Visit the Douglas College Computer-Based English Assessment page for details about the test, what to bring, and how to prepare.
Use the Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Start with a KEYWORD search using words and phrases that describe your topic.
When you find a book that addresses your topic well, make note of the SUBJECTS assigned to it. They will be useful in finding more information on the same topic. Below are some examples of SUBJECTS that may be useful in your research for English materials (click on the links to perform a search in the Douglas College Library catalogue).
Writing Help - Douglas College Learning Centre
Find handouts, videos and blogs to help you with your writing, grammar and more. You can also make an appointment with a peer-tutor to help with your paper writing skills.
The Elements of Style (Strunk's)
Asserting that one must first know the rules to break them, this classic reference book is a must-have for any student and conscientious writer. Intended for use in which the practice of composition is combined with the study of literature, it gives in brief space the principal requirements of plain English style and concentrates attention on the rules of usage and principles of composition most commonly violated.
English Language Tutoring - Douglas College Learning Centre
English Language Tutoring is a service to help you develop your written and spoken English language skills for your Douglas College courses. English Language Tutors are TESL-trained, professional tutors.
Dave's ESL Cafe
Wide range of ESL related material and links. Very popular with students.
WyzAnt Lessons give students a way to quickly review topics for learning English as a Second Language.
ESL Students- Purdue OWL
These OWL resources will help ESL students in second language writing. This section includes resources on writing across the curriculum, writing in the disciplines, and it contains links to OWL workshops and exercises useful for ESL students.
From the Horse's Mouth: Oxford dictionary of English idioms by
Call Number: PE 1464 O944 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This book offers a fresh look at the idiomatic phrases and sayings that make English the rich language that it is. The third edition contains entries for over 6,000 idioms, including 700 entirely new entries, based on Oxford's language monitoring and the ongoing third edition of the Oxford English Dictionary.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs by
Call Number: PN 6421 C646 1992
Publication Date: 1992-09-17
What does "A rising tide lifts all the boats" mean? Where did the saying, "Garbage in, garbage out" come from? And when did "A watched pot never boils" first occur? The answers to these questions are among the many that can be found in the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs, the only dictionary to record and describe the modern proverb. This authoritative reference lists over 2,000 traditional sayings, weeding out ones that have fallen into disuse and including over 100 new proverbs--old sayings that have reappeared in recent times, and newly created ones--known in the twentieth century. Entries include illustrative quotations that show the context of a proverb's use, its history and origins (including Greek, Latin, and French antecedents), and an extensive cross-referencing system for easy access.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary provides coverage of the meaning, history and pronunciation of words from across the English-speaking world.
Subject: English language.
Oxford Reference Online
Published by Oxford University Press, Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 major reference books that cover a wide range of subject areas.
Subject: All subject areas.
Canadian Encyclopedia Online
The Encyclopedia contains more than 30,000 multimedia items including images, maps, games, audio and video. Multimedia is augmented through acquisition and partnerships with Maclean’s magazine and The Canadian Press. The new interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, immediate updates of important events and a user-generated content map that invites Canadians to share their stories. The site also offers a new learning centre for teachers and parents that contains classroom resources, quizzes and themed study guides.