Research Guides: MARK 3340/4483 Research Guide: Company & Industry Information

Canadian Statistical & Demographic Data

Statistics Canada
Statistics from the country's national statistical agency, organized into three broad subject areas: demographic and social, socio-economic and economic.
2016 Census Data
The 2016 Census offers a wide range of analysis and data according to topics that paint a portrait of Canada. The topics presented below provide further information on various related subjects.
Retail/Industry Sales Canada
Government of Canada data about retail trade sales by industry.
Market Reports by Industry Sector or Country
The Trade Commissioner Service provides sector-specific advice and information for Canadian companies positioning themselves in global markets. They offer, free of charge, more than 200 reports with analysis of specific industry sectors.
Market Potential Index for Emerging Markets
"Ranks the market potential of countries identified as 'Emerging Markets' by The Economist magazine. These emerging economies comprise more than half of the world's population, account for a large share of world output, and have very high growth rates; all indicators of enormous market potential."
BC Stats
Contains a range of economic, socio-economic and geographic information pertaining to British Columbia.
CANSIM - Data
Statistics Canada's key socio-economic database. Updated daily and provides access to a large range of statistics on Canadian economics, demographics and social series.
Survey of Household Spending
Government of Canada data about household spending in Canada.
Statistics Canada - GeoSearch
GeoSearch is an interactive mapping application that makes it easy to find geographic areas in Canada for which census data are available. To find a specific place of interest, users can click and zoom in on a map of Canada or they can search by place name or postal code. Links to data products, analytical products and maps that are available for the selected area are listed below the map.
Information by Industry Sector
Industry information from Statistic Canada, including statistics, reports, and industry profiles.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, and society. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

US Census Data

United States Census Bureau
Find statistical information on US population, household income, education, industry and markets.

Company & Industry Information

Company Profiles
Profiles of larger Canadian and US companies via the Library's "Business Source Ultimate" subscription.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Company profiles, business information by sector, economic analysis and statistics, and more.
Canadian Industry Statistics
from Industry Canada.
SWOT Analyses
Strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats of North American companies via the Library's "Business Source Ultimate" subscription.
NAICS (Canada)
North American Industry Classification Codes

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Detailed profiles of US of companies & top performing Canadian companies.
Subject: Business.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Demographic and economic data on every country in the world (with forecasts), as well as statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources for country, market, consumer, and lifestyle profiling. This database was previously referred to as the Global Market Information Database or GMID.

Non-Profits

Industry Overview: Nonprofits: Blog post from UBC's Small Business Accelerator program. Provides brief overview of the non-profit sector in Canada and includes some information about BC. Includes links to further potential research sources.
Imagine Canada: "Imagine Canada is a national charitable organization whose cause is Canada’s charities. Our three broad goals are to amplify the sector’s collective voice, create opportunities to connect and learn from each other, and build the sector’s capacity to succeed." Provides free access to its Resources and Tools, including research and facts.
National Council of Non-Profits: US advocacy and marketing group for American non-profits and charities. Has extensive information on trends, policies and provides free access to its tools and resources.