Skip to main content
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

MLA Style (8th Ed.): Articles

Core Elements Format

The MLA 8th ed. does not provide rules for citing specific types of resources.  They provide a universal set of guidelines for any type of material based based on the core elements.  The examples provided in this libguide were created by a Douglas College librarian and follow this format.

Journal, Article (Print)

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #,

Publication Date, pp. xx-xx.

 

Conatser, Phillip, and Martin Block. "Aquatic Instructors' Beliefs

Toward Inclusion." Therapeutic Recreation Journal, vol. 35,

no. 2, 2001, pp. 170-184.

In-Text

(Conatser and Block 177)

Journal, Article from a Library Database without a DOI

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #,

Publication Date, pp. xx-xx. Title of Database, URL. Date Accessed.

 

Williams, George R. "What Can Consciousness Anomalies Tell Us about

Quantum Mechanics?" Journal of Scientific Exploration, vol. 30,

no. 3, 2015, pp. 326-354. Academic Search Complete, 0-search.

ebscohost.com.orca.douglascollege.ca/login.aspx?direct=true&db

=a9h&AN=118525144&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed

6 Nov. 2016.

In-Text

(Williams 344)

Always use a DOI number if one is available. Otherwise use a URL.  Use a persistent link or stable URL for the article if one is available and remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation. For instructions on persistent links, go to the Douglas College Library home page and click on A-Z at the top of the page (and then P, Persistent links).

This example is from Academic Search Complete (an Ebsco database).  If you are using one of the Ebsco databases, on the right side of the screen, under Tools, click on Permalink. The Permalink (persistent) link will be displayed above the title of the article.  Click in the box to select and highlight the link and then copy that link.  Paste this URL into the citation.  Remember to remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation.

 

Journal, Article from a Library Database with a DOI (Multiple Authors)

Author's Last Name, First Name, et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #,

no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx. Title of Database, doi:#. Date

Accessed.

 

Rabb, Nathaniel, et al. "Truths About Beauty and Goodness: Disgust Affects

Moral but not Aesthetic Judgments." Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity

and the Arts, vol. 10, no. 4, 2016, pp. 492-500. PsycINFO,

doi:10.1037/aca0000051. Accessed 12 Nov. 2016.

In-Text

(Rabb et al. 494)

 

"When possible, cite a DOI (preceded by doi:) instead of a URL. (MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 110)

"If the sources has three or more authors, the entry in the works cited list begins with the first author's name followed by et al.  The in-text citation follows suit." (MLA Handbook, 8th ed., p. 116)

 

Journal, Article from the Internet

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #,

Publication Date, pp. xx-xx, URL. Date Accessed.

 

Cianciolo, Patricia K. "Compensating Nuclear Weapons Workers and Their

Survivors: The Case of Fernald." Michigan Family Review, vol. 19, no. 1,

2015, pp. 51-72, quod.lib.umich.edu/m/mfr/

4919087.0019.103?rgn=main;view=fulltext. Accessed 21 Sept. 2016.

In-Text

(Cianciolo 61)

Magazine Article from a Library Database

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine,  vol. #,

no. #, Publication Date, pp. xx-xx. Title of Database, URL.

Date Accessed.

 

Agren, David. "Here Comes the Rain Again." Maclean's, vol. 124, no. 29,

8 Aug. 2011, p. 43. CBCA Complete, 0-search.proquest.com.orca.

douglascollege.ca/docview/879703108?accountid=10545.

Accessed 14 July 2016.


Magazines can be published with a volume and issue, or with only a publication date.  Cite what you have.

In-Text

(Agren 43)

 

Always use a DOI number if one is available. Otherwise use a URL.  Use a persistent link or stable URL for the article if one is available and remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation. For instructions on persistent links, go to the Douglas College Library home page and click on A-Z at the top of the page (and then P, Persistent links).

This example is from CBCA Complete (a ProQuest databases).  To access an article's persistent link in a ProQuest database, find the article and click on Citation/Abstract (not the Full text or PDF link).  Near the bottom of the page, copy the link next to Document URL.  Paste this URL into the citation.  Remember to remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation.

Magazine, Article (Internet)

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Publication

Date, URL. Date Accessed.

 

Miller, Laura. “The Evolutionary Argument for Dr. Seuss.” Salon, 18 May 2009,

www.salon.com/2009/05/18/evocriticism/. Accessed 29 Nov. 2016.

 

In-Text

(Miller)

Magazine, Article (Print)

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Publication

Date, pp. xx-xx.

 

Bolster, Mary. “Energize Your Life.” Natural Health,  Mar. 2009, p. 10.

In-Text

(Bolster 10)

Newspaper, Article from a Library Database

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper

Publication Date, p. x. Name of Database, URL. Date Accessed.

 

 

Zacharias, Yvonne. "Robofuture." The Vancouver Sun, 6 Aug. 2004,

p. F1. Canadian Newsstream, 0-search.proquest.com.orca.

douglascollege.ca/docview/242295984?accountid=10545.

Accessed 15 July 2016.

 

In-Text

(Zacharias F1)

To access an article's persistent link in Canadian Newsstream, find the article and click on Abstract/Details (not the Full text link).  Near the bottom of the page, copy the link next to Document URL.  Paste this URL into the citation.  Remember to remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation.

Newspaper, Article from the Internet

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper

Publication Date, URL. Date Accessed.

 

Skerritt, Jen. “Local Liver Specialists Struggle to Keep up with Hep-C Influx.”

Winnipeg Free Press, 20 May 2009, www.winnipegfreepress.com

/arts-and-life/life/local-liver-specialists-struggle-to-keep-up-with-hep-c-

influx-45462112.html. Accessed 28 Dec. 2016.

In-Text

(Skerritt)         

Newspaper Article (Print)

Author's Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper

Publication Date, p. x.

 

Fayerman, Pamela. "Body Degerates as Patients Wait." The Vancouver Sun,

3 June 2005, p. A12.

 

In-Text

(Fayerman A12)

Newspaper, Article - No Author (print)

“Oval Distinguished for Innovative Design.” The Vancouver Sun, 16 May 2009,

      p. A14.

In-Text

("Oval Distinguished" A14)