The best search terms will be the main concepts in your research topic. Take the time to choose them carefullly, and your searches will be more successful.
Research question: How does globalization affect women in developing countries? Search terms: globalization, women, developing countries
Depending on what database you're using, you may find that the terms women and globalization are sufficient without the phrase developing countries. This is especially likely when searching for a book. There may be a book about women and globalization that has a chapter on developing countries, but the whole book is not on that particular aspect.
You should have at least two concepts for your research topic, only one will be too broad, making it difficult to research and to write about.
When searching in an article database, the more specific search terms are usually more successful, and you would probably use all three concepts.
For more Research Help please visit the resources below.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets
Subject: Covers current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Canadian Points of View is a full text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Subject: Environment, health, human rights, crime, race, technology, substance abuse, and many more.
The Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV and Complement.
Subject: General/multidisciplinary; science; business; humanities and social sciences; botany; ecology and mathematics.
Project Muse provides online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Subject: Humanities, arts and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Twenty-one years, 1950-70, are covered in this, the fourth index of the Canadian Historical Review. The present index is divided into seven sections. Articles and review articles are indexed by author and by key subject word, reviews by author and by reviewer of the book. Recent Publications, correspondence, obituaries, and university staff appointments are listed in a separate section.
The Canadian Historical Review offers an analysis of the ideas, people, and events that have molded Canadian society and institutions into their present state. Canada's past is examined from a vast and multicultural perspective to provide a thorough assessment of all influences.
The mandate of the Journal of Canadian Studies / Revue d'études canadiennes is first, to publish the best scholarship about Canadian history, culture and society, whether the researcher is junior or senior, living in Canada or abroad; and second, to serve as a vehicle for disseminating solid, original research about Canada that falls between the cracks of more narrowly defined journals.