So much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. UNIQUE! More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Over 56,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures - offer the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. 23 appendixes - 13 in the dictionary and 10 on the companion Evolve website - offer quick access to useful reference information, such as lab values, symbols and abbreviations, language translation guides, pharmacology, infection control standards, conversion tables, and clinical calculations. A strict, common-sense alphabetical organization with no subentries makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. NEW! Over 300 new and updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions and reflect current health care practice and equipment. NEW! Approximately 11,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Editor Marie O'Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN lends her expertise to this new edition, reviewing and revising all definitions and assembling a team of leading consultants and contributors.
Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition. Also included with the purchase is a free one-year subscription to Stedman's Online: Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing, which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 48,000 audio pronunciations, and 48 live action videos; along with a free version of Stedman's Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker (a $99.00 value).
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year The award-winning "Encyclopedia of Nursing Research," now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information
Answers the question, what do practical vocational nurses need to know and to be able to do in order to deliver safe and effective medical-surgical nursing care? This comprehensive book, in a brand new 3rd edition, prepares basic practical/vocational nursing students to care for adult clients with medical or surgical disorders or diseases. Completely updated with new information and an emphasis on the nursing role, it explains the risk factors, causes, and pathophysiology of common disorders and diseases, and reviews diagnostic tests and medical management of the disorders. A focus on nursing care is presented in a nursing process format--including assessment data to collect, nursing diagnoses with suggested interventions and their rationales, and evaluation data to determine the effectiveness of nursing care. Some exciting features include: Nursing process care plans Critical thinking self-checks Rationale for each nursing intervention. Nursing care and procedure checklists.
Professional Guide to Diseases, Ninth Edition, contains full clinical coverage of more than 600 disorders. This complete, yet concise reference presents comprehensive disease information ranging from causes, signs and symptoms, and diagnosis through treatment and special considerations. Helpful tips and charts, anatomic drawings, and other illustrations supplement the text. New sections on complications and prevention have been added to diseases entries where appropriate.