Prepare for a successful career as a community/public health nurse! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 9th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues that impact public health nursing, such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and health care policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. Real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. New to this edition is an emphasis on QSEN skills and an explanation of the influence of the Affordable Care Act on public health. Written by well-known nursing educators Marcia Stanhope and Jeanette Lancaster, this comprehensive, bestselling text is ideal for students in both BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs. Evidence-Based Practice and Cutting Edge boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing.
For use as a primary textbook in clinical nursing education programs, and as a reference for practicing nurses Help each student think like a nurse using a clear, consistent presentation of nursing skills Consistency and accessibility are essential to student success in the Fundamentals of Nursing course. With its clear, approachable, writing style, Skills in Clinical Nursing sets the foundation for nursing excellence. It provides detailed procedures on the most relevant skills performed by nurses as they enter practice. It includes all common variations and is organized from the simplest to the most complex. This edition has been revised and updated to reflect current practice, responding to extensive feedback from clinical nurses, market surveys, and the authors' own teaching and practice experience. Each chapter contains concise introductory material, placing skills in the context of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology, and clearly explaining their purpose and rationale. Each skill is then presented in exceptional step-by-step detail, with over 800 illustrations. Skills coverage is complemented by critical-thinking insights on using assessment data, and essential guidance on appropriate delegation to unlicensed assistive personnel (UAP). Students will learn to think like nurses as they see how the material they are reading is applied in nursing practice.
ns icon. A separate unit on psychiatric mental health nursing covers psychosocial responses to illness, psychiatric disorders, and substance abuse - eliminating the need for a separate psychiatric mental health nursing text. Content related to the NCLEX-PN test plan is emphasized throughout the text, including health promotion, nutrition, legal/ethical issues, HIPAA, and prevention of medication/medical errors. Separate chapters on common, high-profile disorders (including hypertension, diabetes, and shock), provide an in-depth understanding for patient care. Focus on assignment and supervision helps you assign tasks to nurse assistants, patient care techs, and unlicensed assistive personnel, and makes sure they understand the difference between delegation, management, supervision, and assignment of tasks on the health care team. UNIQUE! In-depth pharmacology coverage includes: the Pharmacology Tutorial covering drug classifications, how drugs work, and nursing responsibilities; Pharmacology Capsules boxes providing medication information, precautions for use, interactions, and side/adverse effects; and Pharmacology and Medications tables including classification, use/action, side/adverse effects, and nursing interventions. A separate unit on gerontologic nursing provides comprehensive coverage of the care of the older adult and related disorders. No other LPN/LVN med-surg text offers as much coverage of this primary patient group. Diagnostic Tests and Procedures tables offer quick reference to MRI, CT, Doppler flow, lumbar puncture tests for neurologic disorders, and much more. Health Promotion Considerations boxes highlight timely wellness and disease prevention topics. Patient Teaching Plans provide bulleted lists of nursing instructions for patients, stressing the role and responsibility of the LPN/LVN to reinforce patient education. Nutrition Considerations boxes are spotlighted at appropriate points throughout the text to emphasize the role that nutrition plays in disease and nursing care. Nursing care plans reinforce the nursing process and focus on critical thinking. Cultural Considerations boxes discuss the importance of providing culturally-competent care related to various clinical situations. Put on Your Thinking Cap boxes allow you to pause and consider the practical implications of what you have just read. Get Ready for the NCLEX-PN Examination! sections at the end of chapters include key points, review questions, and case studies that address the various NCLEX Client Needs categories. NEW! Continued emphasis on evidence-based practice and the most current research findings include specific examples of how scientific evidence can justify and support patient care. NEW! Updated nursing diagnoses all reflect the most current NANDA listings for NCLEX compliance.
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title and Essential Purchase Praise for the Third Edition: "I recommend this book as an introduction to new educators involved in clinical teaching." " -Journal for Nurses in Staff Development The fourth edition of this highly acclaimed text continues to provide a comprehensive framework for planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for graduate and undergraduate nursing students in numerous clinical settings. A respected resource for clinical faculty, it addresses the distinct requirements of clinical learning as opposed to classroom learning and provides proven strategies to maximize clinical education. The revision features expanded content on teaching graduate students, regulatory issues affecting distance education, and the use of social media. It covers establishing and using dedicated education units (DEUs), the challenges of student access to electronic health records and documentation of care, and reducing the demands of clinical staff members when multiple students rotate through a particular setting. Additionally, this edition provides guidelines for using preceptors, evaluating multimedia, and observing students in practice; sample observation guidelines, learning assignments, and clinical learning activities; and sample policies for clinical evaluation and adherence to professional conduct standards. It includes the latest revisions of the NCLEX test plan and the AACN Essentials guidelines for nursing education. The instructor's manual, which includes learning activities for each chapter and teaching suggestions, and PowerPoint presentations accompany the text. New to the Fourth edition: Two completely new chapters: the first "Developing Clinical Learning Sites," and the second "Pedagogical Technologies for Clinical Education" Expanded approaches for meeting the clinical needs of graduate students Regulatory issues affecting distance education across state lines Using social media Discussion of benefits of DEUs and practical suggestions for developing them as clinical teaching sites Important content regarding the NLN CNETM Examination Detailed Test Blueprint Challenges of student access to electronic health records Guidelines for using preceptors, evaluating multimedia, and student observation Sample observation guidelines, learning assignments, and clinical learning activities and sample policies for clinical evaluation and professional conduct standards
Praise for the Third Edition: "In this comprehensive textbook on palliative care nursing, editors Marianne Matzo and Deborah Witt Sherman succeed in bringing together the heart of nursing and the true meaning of palliative care with the most current evidence based practice." " --GeriPal This fourth edition of a comprehensive text/reference that has been valued by students, educators, and practicing nurses for many years, Palliative Care Nursing continues to reflect the fundamental hospice and palliative care nursing competencies---both basic and advanced--that are essential for effective and empathetic care of patients and families. This new edition reflects the tremendous growth of this vital discipline into the mainstream of health care and focuses on palliative care that is responsive to the demand for health care reform in America and globally. It provides the knowledge, scientific evidence, and skills needed by nurses to address the complex physical, emotional, social, sexual, and spiritual needs of patients and families within the context of a changing health care delivery system. With a focus on inter-professional collaboration, the book emphasizes the value of complementary, holistic models in promoting health and wholeness across the illness trajectory, even as death approaches. The book is edited by Project on Death in America Faculty Scholars, who have worked to develop, implement, and evaluate nursing initiatives in palliative care in the U.S. and internationally. With a focus on both quality of life and economic imperatives, interdisciplinary authors describe the management of specific diseases and related physical and psychological symptoms, and care of patients during the dying process. They cover assessment of key symptoms and pharmacological, non-pharmacological, and complementary interventions. Taking a life-span approach, the book includes age-appropriate nursing considerations. Key points at the beginning of each chapter and callouts containing evidenced-based information highlight best practices. The text also examines relevant legal, ethical, and cultural considerations and offers case studies with conclusions in each clinical chapter. New to the Fourth Edition: Thoroughly revised and expanded Three new chapters addressing palliative care amidst health care reform, rehabilitation in chronic or serious illness, and post-traumatic stress disorder A conceptual framework table in each chapter identifying the National Quality Forum Domains of Palliative Care and Basic and Advanced Palliative Care and Hospice Nursing Competencies Updated evidence-based callouts that review the highest-quality studies
This database contains more than 300 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers.
Subject: Psychology, Psychiatry, Sociology.