See a demonstration on how to ensure that you use the correct terms when searching for articles in the PsycINFO database.
Identify Search Terms
The best search terms will be the main concepts in your research topic. Take the time to choose them carefully, and your searches will be more successful.
Research question: How does globalization affect women in developing countries? Search terms: globalization, women, developing countries
Depending on what database you're using, you may find that the terms women and globalization are sufficient without the phrase developing countries. This is especially likely when searching for a book. There may be a book about women and globalization that has a chapter on developing countries, but the whole book is not on that particular aspect.
You should have at least two concepts for your research topic, only one will be too broad, making it difficult to research and to write about.
When searching in an article database, the more specific search terms are usually more successful, and you would probably use all three concepts.
For more Research Help please visit the resources below.
This repository for ready-to-use tests and measures from the American Psychological Association provides access to thousands of actual test instruments.
Subject: Psychology, Psychiatry, Education, Medicine, Business, Social Work, Criminology, and more.
This database contains DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders; journals such as American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services and Psychiatric News; a number of psychiatric ebooks; and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines
Subject: Psychiatry, Criminology, Nursing, Education, Psychology and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database and offers the full text for more than 1,370 of those journals indexed.
Subject: Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.
This database contains more than 300 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers.
Subject: Psychology, Psychiatry, Sociology.
The Douglas College library subscribes to the Wiley Online Library Social Science and Humanities Collection. The SSH Collection provides online access to more than 600 journals stretching back to 1997 where available.
Subjects: Business, Psychology, Criminology, Health & Social & Behavioral Sciences, and Sociology.
The Taylor & Francis Online collection provides online access to more than 1200 journals stretching back to 1997 where available.
Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral Science, Criminology, Health & Social Care, Politics, Sport & Leisure, and Sociology.