This is a compact and economic student's version of the critically acclaimed 'APA Dictionary of Psychology'. It contains 5000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions - including many revised and updated definitions from the parent dictionary.
An invaluable and reliable source, the 'APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology' answers the needs of the ever-increasing number of thoughtful readers from all walks of life who are interested in the ways that psychological science and knowledge cast light on the issues of everyday living.
From aggression to amnesia and from schizophrenia to shock therapy, here are 10,500 alphabetically arranged entries that cover all the major topics in psychology. Guided by an eminent team of seven consultant editors--including Robert J. Sternberg, Harvey R. Schiffman, Dr. Leonard W. Hamilton, Daniel P. Kimble, and Dr. Robert Spitzer--Andrew Colman provides in A Dictionary of Psychology clear, concise definitions of terms and concepts in such areas as sensation and perception, cognition, learning and skills, mental disorders, emotion and motivation.
After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior. Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field.
Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians
Work is a central aspect of life, providing a source of structure, a means of survival, connection to others, and optimally a means of self-determination. Across the globe, people devote considerable time and effort to preparing for, adjusting to, and managing their work lives. Many of the major crises affecting people and communities--including wars, famines, poverty, and risks to personal safety--have been and continue to be related to working. At the same time, working, when it is dignified and meaningful, can create the foundation for a satisfying life that allows people to support themselves and their families, and to find an outlet for their values and interests in the world of work.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind is a classic. Published in 1987, to huge acclaim, it immediately took its place as the indispensable guide to the mysteries - and idiosyncrasies - of the human mind. In no other book can the reader find discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the 'cocktail-party' and 'halo' effects, and the least effort principle.
This edited handbook compiles and systemizes the current state of the art by exploring the broad international scope of acculturation. A collection of the world's leading experts in the field review the various contexts for acculturation, the central theories, the groups and individuals undergoing acculturation (immigrants, refugees, indigenous people, expatriates, students and tourists) and discuss how current knowledge can be applied to make both the process and its outcome more manageable and profitable.
The most widely acclaimed reference series in education and psychology, the Mental Measurements Yearbooks are designed to assist professionals in selecting and using standardized tests. The series, initiated in 1938, provides factual information, critical reviews, and comprehensive bibliographic references on the construction, use, and validity of all tests published in English.
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Provides a comprehensive discussion of research methods, including accessing the Internet and using the library. Includes advice on how and when to incorporate material from the Internet, contemporary Canadian examples and varied sample essays by students, in a variety of disciplines.
The -IMaking Sense series comprises five concise, readable guides to research and writing for use by students at all levels of undergraduate study. Designed especially for students in psychology and the life sciences, including biology and zoology, this book outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage, while covering such issues as how to prepare papers using APA guidelines, how to write research proposals and honors theses, and how to use graphic presentation software when giving an oral presentation. This edition has new material on evaluating Internet sources and avoiding plagiarism, as well as new and updated examples.