The best search terms will be the main concepts in your research topic. Take the time to choose them carefully, and your searches will be more successful.
Research question: How does globalization affect women in developing countries? Search terms: globalization, women, developing countries
Depending on what database you're using, you may find that the terms women and globalization are sufficient without the phrase developing countries. This is especially likely when searching for a book. There may be a book about women and globalization that has a chapter on developing countries, but the whole book is not on that particular aspect.
You should have at least two concepts for your research topic, only one will be too broad, making it difficult to research and to write about.
When searching in an article database, the more specific search terms are usually more successful, and you would probably use all three concepts.
For more Research Help please visit the resources below.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database and offers the full text for more than 1,370 of those journals indexed.
Subject: Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.
Contains full text for 397 "core" journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority" journals. Also includes full text for books, monographs and conference papers.
Subject: Sociology and related fields such as Criminology and Criminal Justice, Gender Studies, Social Psychology, Religion etc.
The Taylor & Francis Online collection provides online access to more than 1200 journals stretching back to 1997 where available.
Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral Science, Criminology, Health & Social Care, Politics, Sport & Leisure, and Sociology.