The best search terms will be the main concepts in your research topic. Take the time to choose them carefullly, and your searches will be more successful.
Research question: How does globalization affect women in developing countries? Search terms: globalization, women, developing countries
Depending on what database you're using, you may find that the terms women and globalization are sufficient without the phrase developing countries. This is especially likely when searching for a book. There may be a book about women and globalization that has a chapter on developing countries, but the whole book is not on that particular aspect.
You should have at least two concepts for your research topic, only one will be too broad, making it difficult to research and to write about.
When searching in an article database, the more specific search terms are usually more successful, and you would probably use all three concepts.
For more Research Help please visit the resources below.
Contains full text for 397 "core" journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority" journals. Also includes full text for books, monographs and conference papers.
Subject: Sociology and related fields such as Criminology and Criminal Justice, Gender Studies, Social Psychology, Religion etc.
Provides information from journals on criminal justice topics, including corrections & prisons, police & policing, probation & parole, and substance abuse & addiction.
Subject: Crime and criminal justice.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets
Subject: Covers current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
The Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV and Complement.
Subject: General/multidisciplinary; science; business; humanities and social sciences; botany; ecology and mathematics.
This repository for ready-to-use tests and measures from the American Psychological Association provides access to thousands of actual test instruments.
Subject: Psychology, Psychiatry, Education, Medicine, Business, Social Work, Criminology, and more.
The Taylor & Francis Online collection provides online access to more than 1200 journals stretching back to 1997 where available.
Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral Science, Criminology, Health & Social Care, Politics, Sport & Leisure, and Sociology.
Criminology is devoted to crime and deviant behavior. Disciplines covered in Criminology include: sociology, psychology, design, systems analysis, and decision theory. Major emphasis is placed on empirical research and scientific methodology. Criminology's content also includes articles which review the literature or deal with theoretical issues stated in the literature as well as suggestions for the types of investigation which might be carried out in the future.
JQ is a refereed, multi-disciplinary journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and interpretive studies of issues related to criminal justice. JQ is indexed in Criminology and Penology Abstracts, Police Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Periodical Index, and Criminal Justice Abstracts. In the past decade, JQ has become a premier journal and it continues to be a major forum for criminal justice related scholarship, making it an essential part of any library’s holdings.