Skip to main content
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

Chicago Style: Books

Single Author (14.75)

Bibliographic Form

Oakley, Ann. Gender on Planet Earth. New York: New Press, 2003.

Footnote Form

      1. Ann Oakley, Gender on Planet Earth (New York: New Press, 2003), 77.

Two or Three Authors (14.76)

Bibliographic Form

Boxer, Marilyn J., and Jean H. Quataert. Connecting Spheres: European Women

in a Globalizing World, 1500 to the Present. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford

University Press, 2000.

Footnote Form

2. Marilyn J. Boxer and Jean H. Quataert, Connecting Spheres: European

Women in a Globalizing World, 1500 to the Present, 2nd ed. (New York: Oxford

University Press, 2000), 133.

More Than Three Authors (14.76)

Bibliographic Form

Clayden, Marie, Dianne Fenner, Christine McAdam, and Christine Strauss.

Making It Work: A Handbook for Reading, Writing, Language and Media.

Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 2003.

Footnote Form

3. Marie Clayden et al., Making It Work: A Handbook for Reading, Writing,

Language and Media (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 2003), 65.

  • In the bibliography, only the first author’s name is inverted, and a comma must appear both before and after the first author’s given name or initials.
  • For works by or edited by four to ten people, all names are usually given in the bibliography.  In the footnote, only the name of the first author is given followed by et al.
  • For works with more than 10 authors, only the first 7 authors should be listed in the bibliography, followed by et al.

Corporate Author (14.92)

Bibliographic Form

American Medical Association. Essential Guide to Asthma. New York:

Pocket Books, 1998.

Footnote Form

4. American Medical Association, Essential Guide to Asthma (New York:

Pocket Books, 1998), 78.

 

No Author (14.79)

Bibliographic Form

American Heritage Dictionary for Learners of English. Boston: Houghton, 2002.

Footnote Form

5. American Heritage Dictionary for Learners of English (Boston:

Houghton, 2002), 10. 

Editor as Author (14.87)

Bibliographic form

Hughes, Kenneth J., ed. Contemporary Manitoba Writers: New Critical Studies.

Winnipeg: Turnstone Press, 1990.

Footnote form

6. Kenneth J. Hughes, ed., Contemporary Manitoba Writers: New Critical

Studies (Winnipeg: Turnstone Press, 1990), 48.

Translated Book (14.87)

Bibliographic form

Fuentes, Norberto. Autobiography of Fidel Castro. Translated by Anna Kushner.

New York: W.W. Norton, 2010.

Footnote form

7. Norberto Fuentes, Autobiography of Fidel Castro, trans. Anna Kushner

(New York: W.W. Norton, 2010), 58.

Chapter or Other Part of a Book (14.111-14.113)

Bibliographic form

Crozier, Lorna. “What Stays in the Family.” In Dropped Threads: What We

Aren’t Told, edited by Carol Shields and Marjorie Anderson, 11-18.

Toronto: Vintage Canada, 2001.

Footnote form

8. Lorna Crozier, “What Stays in the Family,” in Dropped Threads: What

We Aren’t Told, ed. Carol Shields and Marjorie Anderson (Toronto: Vintage

Canada, 2001), 16.