Skip to main content
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

Chicago Style: Articles - Online

Journals/Magazines/Newspapers - Online

Cite an online journal the same as you would a print journal, but in addition, include the DOI (or the URL if the DOI is not available) at the end of the citation.

The DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is a unique alpha-numeric code given to individual online works. The DOI usually appears at the top of the article or in the database record for the article.  At the moment, not all publishers provide DOIs.

For articles retrieved from a database (e.g. Cinahl, CBCA, Academic Search Complete), the DOI is preferred. If it is not available, the database name is cited rather than the URL. 

For further information refer to pages14.4 -14.12, and 14.184-14.185 in the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.

Journal Article from a Library Database with a DOI Available

Bibliographic Form

Tolmacz, Rami. “Concern and Empathy: Two Concepts or One.” American

Journal of Psychoanalysis 68, no. 3 (2008): 257-275. doi:

10.1057/ajp.2008.22.

Footnote Form

18. Rami Tolmacz, “Concern and Empathy: Two Concepts or One,”

American Journal Psychoanalysis 68, no. 3 (2008): 259, doi:

10.1057/ajp.2008.22.

Journal Article from a Library Database without a DOI Available

Bibliographic Form

Sandage, Steven J. “Comparison of Two Group Interventions to Promote

Forgiveness: Empathy as a Mediator of Change.” Journal of Mental

Health Counseling 32, no. 1 (2010): 35-57. Academic Search Complete.

Footnote Form

19. Steven J. Sandage, “Comparison of Two Group Interventions to

Promote Forgiveness: Empathy as a Mediator of Change,” Journal of Mental

Health Counseling 32, no. 1 (2010): 39, Academic Search Complete.

Article from JSTOR

Bibliographic Form

Ellingson, Terry. “The Technique of Chordal Singing in the Tibetan Style.”

American Anthropologist 72, no. 4 (1970): 826-831.

http://0-www.jstor.org.orca.douglascollege.ca/stable/671659?seq=1.

Footnote Form

20. Terry Ellingson, “The Technique of Chordal Singing in the Tibetan

Style,” American Anthropologist 72, no. 4 (1970): 829,

http://0-www.jstor.org.orca.douglascollege.ca/stable/671659?seq=1.

Journal Article from the Internet with a DOI Available

Bibliographic Form

Testa, Bernard, and Lamont B. Kier. “Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-

Organisation of Complex Systems.” Entropy 2, no. 1 (March 2000): 1-25.

doi:10.3390/e2010001.

Footnote Form

21. Bernard Testa and Lamont B. Kier, “Emergence and Dissolvence in

the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems,” Entropy 2, no. 1 (March 2000):

17, doi:10.3390/e2010001.

Journal Article from the Internet without a DOI Available

Bibliographic Form

Bean, Heidi R. “Carla Harryman’s Non/Representation and the Ethics of

Dispersive.” Postmodern Culture 20, no. 1 (2009).

http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/postmodern_culture/

v020/20.1.bean.html.

Footnote Form

22. Heidi R. Bean, “Carla Harryman’s Non/Representation and the Ethics

of Dispersive,” Postmodern Culture 20, no. 1 (2009),

http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/postmodern_culture/v020/20.1.bean.html.

Magazine Article from a Database

If the magazine was obtained from a database, provide the database name.

Bibliographic Form

Latimer, Joanne. “Well-Bred and Well-Heeled.” Chatelaine, February 2011,

114. CBCA Complete.

Footnote Form

23. Joanne Latimer, “Well-Bred and Well-Heeled,” Chatelaine, February

2011, 114, CBCA Complete.

Magazine Article from the Internet

If the magazine was viewed online, include the DOI (if available) or the URL.

Bibliograhic Form

Elliott, Justin. “What Sharia Law Actually Means.” Salon, February 26, 2011.

http://www.salon.com/news/islam/index.html?

story=/politics/war_room/2011/02/26/sharia_the_real_story.

Footnote Form

24. Justin Elliott, “What Sharia Law Actually Means,” Salon, February 26,

2011, http://www.salon.com/news/islam/index.html?story=/ politics/

war_room/2011/02/26/sharia_the_real_story.

Newspaper Article from a Database

Bibliographic Form

Eustace, Chantal. “One Nail at a Time.” Winnipeg Free Press, February 26,

2011, G4. Canadian Newsstream.

Footnote Form

25. Chantal Eustace, “One Nail at a Time,” Winnipeg Free Press,

February 26, 2011, G4, Canadian Newsstream.