Skip to main content
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

Chicago Style: Webpages

Webpages (14.243-14.246)

Include as much information as you can determine: title, author, site owner or sponsor, publication or latest revision date, and the URL. If the publication/latest revision date can not be determined, include the access date.

If there is no author, begin the citation with the site owner or sponsor.

A website title is not italicized or put in quotation marks unless it is also the title of a book.  Titled sections or pages within a website should be placed in quotation marks.

The Chicago Manual of Style suggests citing web pages only in the footnotes.  They may be included in the bibliography at your or your instructor’s discretion.  Should you want to include webpages in your bibliography, this is the suggested Douglas College Library format.

Webpage

Bibliographic Form

MacDonald, George F. “The Haida: Children of Eagle and Raven.” Canadian

Museum of Civilization Corporation. Last modified April 1, 2010.

http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/haida/haindexe.html.

Footnote Form

26. George F. MacDonald, “The Haida: Children of Eagle and Raven,”

Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation, last modified April 1, 2010,

http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/haida/haindexe.html.

Webpage

Bibliographic Form

McDonald’s Corporation. “The Ray Kroc Story.“ Accessed March 25, 2011.

http://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en/our_story/our_history

/the_ray_kroc_story.html.

Footnote Form

27. McDonald’s Corporation, “The Ray Kroc Story,“ accessed March 25,

2011, http://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en/our_story/our_history/

the_ray_kroc_story.html.

Webpage

Bibliographic Form 

Gap Inc. “How We Do Business is as Important as What We Do.” Last

modified December, 2009. http://gapinc.com/com/content

/dam/gapincsite/documents/COBC/Code_English.pdf.

Footnote Form

28. Gap Inc., “How We Do Business is as Important as What We Do,”

last modified December, 2009, http://gapinc.com/com/content/

dam/gapincsite/documents/COBC/Code_English.pdf.

Webpage

Bibliographic Form

The White House. “The Recovery Act.” Accessed May 19, 2011.

http://www.whitehouse.gov/recovery.

Footnote Form

29. The White House, “The Recovery Act,” accessed October 18, 2010,

http://www.whitehouse.gov/recovery.

Blog

Blog entries are generally cited only as a note or a mention in the text.  They are commonly omitted from the bibliography. A frequently cited blog may be included in the bibliography.

 

Bibliographic Form

Posner, Richard. “Inequality in Income and Wealth.” The Becker-

Posner Blog. January 30, 2011. http://www.becker-posner-blog.com

/2011/01/inequality-in-income-and-wealthposner.html.

Footnote Form

30. Richard Posner, “Inequality in Income and Wealth,” The Becker-

Posner Blog, January 30, 2011,http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/2011/01/

inequality-in-income-and-wealthposner.html.