Skip to main content
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

Chicago Style: Articles - Print

Journal Article (14.175-14.183)

Bibliographic Form

Berger, Benjamin. “The Limits of Belief: Freedom of Religion, Secularism, and

the Liberal State.” Canadian Journal of Law and Society 17, no. 1 (2002):

39-68.

Footnote Form

14. Benjamin Berger, “The Limits of Belief: Freedom of Religion,

Secularism, and the Liberal State,” Canadian Journal of Law and Society 17, no.

1 (2002): 61.

Book Reviews (14.214-14.217)

Bibliographic Form

Lewis, Randolph. Review of The Power of Traditional Chinese Medicine, by

Christine M. Drake.  Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine 45, no. 2

(2002): 59-62.

Footnote Form

      15. Randolph Lewis, review of The Power of Traditional Chinese Medicine, by

Christine M. Drake, Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine 45,

no. 2 (2002): 59.

Magazines - Print (14.199-14.202)

While a specific page number may be cited in a footnote, the inclusive page numbers of an article may be omitted in bibliographies since they are often widely separated by extraneous material.  When page numbers are included, a comma rather than a colon separates them from the date of issue.

Weekly or monthly magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only.

 

Bibliographic Form

Neering, Rosemary. “Zigzagging to Zeballos.” British Columbia Magazine,

Spring 2003.

Footnote Form

16. Rosemary Neering, “Zigzagging to Zeballos,” British Columbia

Magazine, Spring 2003, 45.

Newspapers - Print (14.203-14.213)

Page numbes may usually be omitted because a newspaper's issue on any particular day may include several editions.  If known, it is useful to add the edition.

Newspapers are more commonly cited in notes or parenthetical references than in bibliographies.  If, for some reason, a bibliographic entry were included, it would appear as follows:

Bibliographic Form

Bridge, Maurice. “Turning Games to Gold.” Vancouver Sun, May 8, 2003, final

edition.

Footnote Form

17. Maurice Bridge, “Turning Games to Gold,” Vancouver Sun, May 8,

2003: final edition.