Skip to main content
Douglas College Library Books & DVDs Articles & Databases Research Help & Guides Services Faculty

MLA Style (7th Ed.): Articles

Journal, Article (print) Basic Format

Author. “Title of Article.”  Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Publication year):

         Pages. Medium.

Journal, Article (print) (5.4.2)

Kiyak, Emine. “A New Nonpharmacological Method in Fibromyalgia: The Use

       of Wool.” Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine 15.4

       (2009): 399-405. Print.

After the journal name, give the volume number and the issue number separated by a period. (See p. 140, MLA Handbook, 2009)

Journal, Article, More than Three Authors (5.5.4)

Goodman, Sherryl H., Matthew H. Rouse, Qi Long, Shuang Ji, and Sarah R.

       Brand. “Deconstructing Antenatal Depression: Neonatal Behavioral

       Functioning.” Infant Mental Health Journal 32.3 (2011): 339-361. Print.

Or

Goodman, Sherryl H, et al.  “Deconstructing Antenatal Depression: Neonatal

      Behavioral Functioning.” Infant Mental Health Journal 32.3 (2011):

      339-361. Print.

If there are more than three authors, you may name only the first and add et al. (“and others”), or you may give all names in full in the order in which they appear on the article. (See page 155-156, MLA Handbook, 2009)

Magazine, Article (print) (5.4.6)

Bolster, Mary. “Energize Your Life.” Natural Health Mar. 2009: 10+. Print.

When an article does not appear on consecutive pages, write only the first page number and a plus sign, leaving no intervening space.  Do not give the volume and issue numbers even if they are listed. (See p. 143, MLA Handbook, 2009)

Newspaper, Article (print) (5.4.5)

Fletcher, Pascal. “Castro’s Sister Worked for CIA against Communism.”

      Vancouver Sun 27 Oct. 2009: B6. Print.

Newspaper, Article - No Author (print)

“Oval Distinguished for Innovative Design.” Vancouver Sun 16 May 2009:

      A14. Print.

Journal, Article from a Library Database, Basic Format

Author. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Publication year):

          Pages. Database Name. Medium. Date of Access. 

When citing items retrieved from a library database, include the publication information, the name of the database in italics, the medium (Web) and the date of access (day, month and year).

Journal, Article (Library Database) (5.6.4)

Finch, Raymond J. “Trauma and Forgiveness: A Spiritual Inquiry.”Journal of

         Spirituality in Mental Health 9.2 (2007): 27-43. Academic Search

         Complete. Web. 6 June 2009.

Newspaper, Article (Library Database) (5.6.4)

Sanders, Carol. “Arctic Voyage to Focus on Climate Change.” Winnipeg Free

         Press 11 May 2009: B3. Canadian Newsstream. Web. 6 June 2009.

Magazine, Article (Library Database) (5.6.4)

Cuda, Amanda. “Fight Allergies with Acupressure.” Massage Magazine

         Mar. 2009: 88- 89. Alt HealthWatch. Web. 6 June 2009.

Journal, Article (Internet) (5.6.3)

Bulanda, Ronald E., and Stephen Lippmann. “Wrinkles in Parental Time with

       Children: Work, Family Structure, and Gender.” Michigan Family Review

       13.1 (2009): n. pag. Web. 4 July 2012..

Provide the publication information as you would for a print journal.  If the source does not have page numbers use ‘n. pag.’.  Provide the medium and the date of access. (See p. 190, MLA Handbook, 2009)

Magazine, Article (Internet) (5.6.2)

Miller, Laura. “The Evolutionary Argument for Dr. Seuss.” Salon.com. Salon

          Media Group, 18 May 2009. Web. 19 June 2009. 

Newspaper, Article (Internet) (5.6.2)

Skerritt, Jen. “Local Liver Specialists Struggle to Keep up with Hep-C Influx.”

          Winnipeg Free Press. Winnipeg Free Press, 20 May 2009. Web.

          24 June 2009.